INTERACT WITH THIS!

Recently, a slough of information about the war in Afghanistan, documents and war logs was leaked to three major press outlets (thanks Wikileaks! and you have got to see what The Guardian did with it!

I’m in interactive-multimedia-convergence-journalism heaven!

Surprise, surprise. War is actually tremendously devastating and not this awesome extravaganza of freedom and democracy as the KoolAid would have you believe.

Here’s an excerpt:

Bloody errors at civilians’ expense, as recorded in the logs, include the day French troops strafed a bus full of children in 2008, wounding eight. A US patrol similarly machine-gunned a bus, wounding or killing 15 of its passengers, and in 2007 Polish troops mortared a village, killing a wedding party including a pregnant woman, in an apparent revenge attack. -The Guardian

Honestly, Dalton Trumbo’s Johnny Got His Gun told me that. Tim O’Brien’s The Things They Carried told me that. Anthony Swofford’s Jarhead told me that. The Hurt Locker told me that. My dad told me that. And HBO’s The Pacific told me that.

But I understand not everyone (myself included) has cable.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

