At this bus stop

I was asked if the Illinois hoodie I was wearing was from my alma mater. Yes. 

I was asked what I studied. Journalism. 

I was asked if I’m working in that field now.

and when I answered the smile crept across my face and my whole body. It spread into part of myself that I had taken for granted. It reached beyond into the entierty of the evening and warmed it for a moment.

Yes. I replied.

Sometimes it takes an old man in gigantic spectacles and an oversized knit cap to help you see your forest for all the trees you planted from seeds.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

