The Alchemist

There is a passage in Paulo Coehlo’s The Alchemist that goes a little something like this:

“When each day is the same as the next, it’s because people fail to recognize the good things that happen in their lives every day that the sun rises.”

I would hesitate to say that each day has been like the one before it, because good things happen every single day, but it’s certainly been a challenge maintaining that sense of wonder and gratefulness throughout the day. It’s something I have to work on in the winter, usually, because the shortage of daylight really gets to me.

Once safely cradled in my apartment, post-shower and face-timing with one of my best friends she pointed out that I just need to get better at taking inventory of those things moreso than the minutiae.

So in this time of year that is both hectic, busy, full of laughter and light, it’s important to remember to count your blessings. And strangely enough, I remembered one of my all-time favorite holiday songs this week!

So with a thankful heart, I look forward to acres and acres of snow this evening.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

