“One day, baby

We’ll be old, oh baby, we’ll be old and think of all the stories that we could’ve told.”

Often I think back to a particular drive where a very dear friend and I rocked Lauryn Hill and talked about our boundless, vibrant selves.

I remember this moment not only for its metaphorical resonance because it encapsulated a feeling of bravery. “You’re not just any girl,” she said. “You’re THE girl.” And while many a boyfriend have come and gone since this statement was declared, more and more I find it stretches beyond the reaches of just romantic entanglements.

I find that it encompasses every interaction and every wish for commonality I make. But it reminds me to also remain a humble listener — in good company and to the pulse of the universe — and let things unfold as they may.

Miss Arizona has been know to refer to these moments of amazement I have as “being intense,” as I literally start yelling about all the wonder in this world and my life and all the learning that is to be done and the places to be seen and the love to give to others.

It is because of this intense desire to suck the marrow out of each day that sometimes causes me to combust out of joy and gratitude. And lately, I have a hard time holding it all in.

When people come into your life they come in at the middle, you just hope they stick around for the next part of the story. I find myself sketching the outline of what has yet to be written and I am SO excited. I only hope you share it with me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

