Design, The Resistance and a New Creation

Work in Progress -- Not Done YET!!!

Work in Progress — Not Done YET!!!

We’ve begun week 4 with a deep dive into visual design. This is the area that is completely foreign to me. Rather, I know what it is and I know what graphic design is but what’s made of may as well be unicorn dust and pixie hair.

Today we had to design a quote poster in addition to yesterday’s homework of words as design. Both of these exercises welcomed a new little voice in my head that I hadn’t quite encountered in such a booming way until now.

The Resistance.

The Resistance is not Impostor Syndrome, which I’ve had plenty of in the last four weeks.  The Resistance is the chasm between where you are and where you know you can be. The Resistance is doubt compounded. The Resistance has gnashing teeth and tentacles.

My designer friend says the feeling never goes away, you just get used to it. There will always be a gap between the idea in your head and the finished product. Especially considering external constraints like clients, budget, brand, etc. but noticing it was a really cool moment for me. It spurred the writing of my own manifesto in a quiet sidestreet in the sun. Whoa.

It means I might actually be good at this. But that could be my Impostor Syndrome talking.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

